Tax levy for Bellville police passes


CLEAR FORK VALLEY — A levy designed to funnel more money into the Bellville Police Department was voted in on election day, with preliminary figures showing 62.13 per cent of voters said yes on their ballots.

Two new Clear Fork Valley School District board members were elected, Kyle Beveridge and Jennifer Stallard. Current member Amy Weekley was re-elected. That vote means current board member James Klenk will no longer serve.

The tax levy issue in support of the Bellville Police Department generated visible support, in that numerous yard signs peppered area yards.

One seat was open on the Bellville village council, and Jason Guilliams was re-elected.

Mayor Teri Brenkus’ name was on the ballot. She had to run for re-election because she had been named to fill an unexpired term ending Dec. 31.

In the village of Butler, four people ran for four seats. Those elected were Lonnie Browne, Trent Dawson, Dale Horn and Joe Stallard.

Elections were held for township trustees in Jeffferson, Worthington and Perry townships. In Jefferson Township, Mark Gatton and Bob McConkie were re-elected.

In Perry Township, Larry Weirich and Matthew Mott were elected. Weirich is the Bellville village administrator.

In Worthington Township, Roger Oswalt and Clint Sellers were elected to fill two seats.

There was a renewal of a tax levy of two mills for the cemetery board in Bellville. That passed.

A renewal of a tax levy for the Nutrition Senior Center, at . 6 mills for five years, was passed.

In Jefferson Township, Adrianne Hoover was elected fiscal officer.



9:11 am
Updated: 9:12 am. |    
Vintage Grand Prix to run at Mid-Ohio
9:04 am
Updated: 9:05 am. |    
Vigil for Dre Jones set for June 24
9:02 am
Updated: 9:07 am. |    
You can prevent heat-related illness