Lexington cross country program runs to two state titles Saturday



Both Lexington cross country teams earned Division II cross country championships on Saturday at National Trail Raceway, Hebron.

The girls won with 64 points, while second-place Tippecanoe had 125. The Minutemen were led by Dominique Clairmonte, who finished fourth in 18:29.2. Whitney Wendling was ninth in 18:42.9 and Mackenna Curtis-Collins took 11th in 18:53.3.

Also, Abby Miller took 13th in 18:55.7, Olivia Wolfe finished 58th in 19:52.7, Emily Taylor was 68th in 20:02.9 and Keelie Speckert finished 71st in 20:05.9.

The boys’ team took first place with 54 points. Tippecanoe was second again, this time with 77. Lex was led by Nick Stricklen, who finished third in 15:43.2, and Ryan Johnston, who took fourth in 15:47.6.

Forest Volz was 13th in 16:09.6, while Kyle Johnston ran 31st in 16:30.2. Also, Bailey Stach was 45th in 16:41.6, Clay Sturts finished 108th in 17:38.3 and Noah Sgambellone took 115th in 17:50.5.

Rob Hamilton can be reached at 419-946-3010, ext. 1807. Connect with him on Twitter at @SportsMCS